World in Chains

If you’re looking for fantasy that merges classic fantasy with a more modern style of storytelling, this may be the series for you. On the surface, it’s a classic quest story complete with a dark lord figure. Beneath that surface, however, it’s a story of a man, Darien Warrick, who has done terrible things in the name of saving the world, and it’s the story of young heroes who do not know the truth about Darien Warrick. All they see is a tyrant who needs to die.

In truth, there are much worse evils out there.

Book 1: Empire of Chains:

Empire of Chains resized

Five hundred years ago, powerful magic sealed Emperor Darien Warrick inside a ring of mountains. For five hundred years, his subjects have been trapped beside him. Some say he’s evil and these actions were necessary. Others say he’s a man willing to sacrifice anything for the greater good.

To young noblewoman Nadia, he is nothing but a murderer. On the day Warrick’s executioner takes her mother’s head, Nadia dedicates her life to one goal: killing Warrick. She spends her days training with the castle guard, her nights poring over the notes her mother left behind. In them, she finds the location of the only spell that can defeat the immortal sorcerer. But it feels too convenient. If she is to succeed in her quest, she must figure out Warrick’s true motivations and outsmart him.

For young woodsman Markus, Warrick is the man who owns him. Markus has spent his entire life training to become an Imperial Guard, but it’s a future he can’t stomach. However, it’s the only option he has, or at least the only sane one.

Until he meets Nadia.

Reformed thief Berig doesn’t care about Warrick one way or the other. Berig would rather keep his head down and try to scratch out what meager living he can. But in a world like this, he’ll never get what he wants.

Warrick has other plans.

Book 2: The Shadowed Land

The Shadowed Land resized.jpg

Book 3: The Gilded Empire

The Gilded Empire resized

Book 4: The Winds of Time

The Winds of Time resized.jpg